New Jersey Record
Newark
LS

Louise Scott-Rountree

Council Member2022-07-01 – 2030-06-30 (first-office day per Legistar office record [body 138, Municipal Council] [2022-07-01], current term 2026-07-01 – 2030-06-30)

No biography on file yet.

At a glance

News mentions
0

Term ending Jun 30, 2030.

Voice

Meetings spoken in
7
Total speaking time
42:26
Avg per meeting
6:04
Segments
494

Want every word Scott-Rountree has said?

The OpenCity MCP for Claude.ai answers questions like “what has Scott-Rountree said about housing this year” with one prompt — full speaking history, with YouTube timestamps.

Top issues during term (20)

high↑Mar 2026[36]

Affordable housing financial agreement transfers (Tethys entities)

Delays transfer of financial obligations for 120 affordable units; no city appropriation.

critical→Jan 2026[32]

Delayed 2026 municipal budget and possible shortfall

$65.4 million in temporary funding to bridge the gap until the 2026 budget is adopted.

critical↑Jan 2026[24]

Illegal Conversions and UCC Follow-Up

The city loses permit and tax revenue when work is done illegally.

medium↑Oct 2026[23]

Newark Works First-Source Hiring Compliance

Grant funding available if the district applies by December 18.

medium↑May 2026[23]

Bulk waste limits and fines for over-10-item pileouts

Higher fines for solid waste violations; revenue impact not stated.

high↑Oct 2026[21]

Newark Housing Authority state takeover

medium↑Oct 2026[20]

Senior services lease at Bethany Baptist Church

Costs the city $30,000 for calendar year 2026, payable at $2,500 a month.

high↑Apr 2026[20]

Long-term tax abatements for new housing

Abatements reduce property tax revenue from these parcels for 25 to 30 years in exchange for housing investment.

high↑Oct 2026[20]

Crisis response and public health grant funding

Includes an additional $3,131,050 in HRSA funds, bringing the Ryan White cumulative award to $5,852,494.

high↑Oct 2026[20]

Crisis response and public health grant funding

Includes an additional $3,131,050 in HRSA funds, bringing the Ryan White cumulative award to $5,852,494.

high↓Jan 2026[17]

City Property Sales for Housing and Port-Related Development

Sales ranging from about $43,680 to $220,500 per parcel under the city's minimum price ordinance.

medium↑Apr 2026[16]

Local historic structure designation process

Introduces a nominal application fee; no other fiscal impact yet.

high↑Sep 2026[15]

Emergency water main contract extension

Adds $25,000 to the existing contract plus a new $235,000 emergency award, up to $1,384,220 total.

medium↑Jan 2026[15]

Crossing guard communications and intersection safety

$4.03 million in state funds with zero city match.

high↑Jul 2026[14]

Sale of city land for new University High School

The city would convey land at nominal consideration, giving up any sale proceeds to enable the school project.

medium↓Aug 2026[13]

Electronic tax lien sale and senior outreach

The sale enforces municipal liens owed to the city.

medium↓Aug 2026[13]

Newark Alliance budget and tourism accountability

The 2026 annual budget amendment for the Alliance is on hold pending detail.

critical↑Mar 2026[13]

Homelessness and housing conditions

$3 million city budget funds the Catholic Charities contract.

high↑Jan 2026[13]

Street paving and utility restoration oversight

Contract amounts were not stated in the published agenda.

high↓Mar 2026[13]

Selling city land below assessed value for affordable housing

Sales ranging from about $43,680 to $220,500 per parcel under the city's minimum price ordinance.

Decisions during term (501)

Recorded while Scott-Rountree was in office — not necessarily decisions they moved, spoke to, or voted on.

approvedVoted yes7-0Oct 13, 2026

Added Starter — Water/Sewer Utilities Orthophosphate Contract Increase

tabledOct 6, 2026

Defer ordinance 6-A: assignment of financial agreement, 82-unit affordable housing project (Tangram)

tabledOct 6, 2026

Defer ordinance 6-B: assignment of financial agreement, 38-unit affordable housing project

tabledOct 6, 2026

Deferrals of multiple 7 R 2 private sale/redevelopment items

approvedVoted yes9-0Sep 23, 2026

Ordinance 26-1023 — Historic designation process streamlining (first reading)

tabledVoted yes9-0Sep 23, 2026

Ordinance 26-0893 — Livingston/Tethys affordable housing assignment (82 units)

tabledVoted yes9-0Sep 23, 2026

Ordinance 26-0904 — Somerset Homes/Tethys assignment (38 units)

approvedVoted yes9-0Sep 23, 2026

Ordinance 26-1280 — El Sid Properties/GPOP Doremus Ave assignment

approvedVoted yes9-0Sep 23, 2026

Ordinance 26-1087 — Westward Model Neighborhood Initiative plan amendment

tabledVoted yes9-0Sep 23, 2026

Ordinance 26-1138 — Tax exemption service-charge reductions

approvedVoted yes9-0Sep 23, 2026

Ordinance 26-1291 — Brokerage fee ban for residential tenants

approved9-0Sep 23, 2026

7R1-a (26-1295) — WIC Breastfeeding funding appropriation

approved9-0Sep 23, 2026

7R1-b (26-1299) — Childhood Lead Exposure Prevention appropriation

approved9-0Sep 23, 2026

7R1-c (26-1297) — STD testing appropriation

approved9-0Sep 23, 2026

7R1-d (26-1298) — Oral health care appropriation

approvedVoted yes8-0-1Sep 23, 2026

7R1-e (26-1302) — Code Red Services appropriation

approved9-0Sep 23, 2026

7R1-f (26-1308) — Immunization Project Vaccinate appropriation

approved9-0Sep 23, 2026

7R1-g (26-1278) — Copier paper bid contract

tabled9-0Sep 23, 2026

7R2-c (26-0829) — 48-52 Pennsylvania Avenue private sale

tabled9-0Sep 23, 2026

7R2-d (26-0429) — 177-179 Scheerer Avenue private sale

Voting record (192)

189 yes0 no3 abstained

Oldest to newest — hover a bar for the item.

Voted yesOct 13, 2026

Added Starter — Water/Sewer Utilities Orthophosphate Contract Increase

Voted yesSep 23, 2026

Ordinance 26-1023 — Historic designation process streamlining (first reading)

Voted yesSep 23, 2026

Ordinance 26-0893 — Livingston/Tethys affordable housing assignment (82 units)

Voted yesSep 23, 2026

Ordinance 26-0904 — Somerset Homes/Tethys assignment (38 units)

Voted yesSep 23, 2026

Ordinance 26-1280 — El Sid Properties/GPOP Doremus Ave assignment

Voted yesSep 23, 2026

Ordinance 26-1087 — Westward Model Neighborhood Initiative plan amendment

Voted yesSep 23, 2026

Ordinance 26-1138 — Tax exemption service-charge reductions

Voted yesSep 23, 2026

Ordinance 26-1291 — Brokerage fee ban for residential tenants

Voted yesSep 23, 2026

7R1-e (26-1302) — Code Red Services appropriation

Voted yesSep 23, 2026

7R2-m (26-0865) — 949-951 Bergen Street private sale

Voted yesSep 23, 2026

7R2-n (26-1319) — 302-304 West Runyon Street first amendment

Voted yesSep 15, 2026

Resolution 7R8-a(s) 26-1317 — Amending the 2026 Municipal Budget

Voted yesSep 15, 2026

Resolution 7R8-b(s) 26-1314 — Sister Cities Relationship with Canton of Nabón, Ecuador

Voted yesSep 15, 2026

Resolution 7R2-a 26-1301 — First Amendment to Kawaida Towers Grant Agreement ($8,000,000)

Voted yesSep 9, 2026

Consent: Marriage License Division Financial Reports (Jan-Mar 2026)

Voted yesSep 9, 2026

Ordinance 26-0292: 25-year tax abatement for 636 MLK Urban Renewal LLC

Voted yesSep 9, 2026

Ordinance 26-0974: Deed restriction on city property sold for redevelopment

Voted yesSep 9, 2026

Ordinance 26-1112: Corrective deeds from Newark Housing Authority

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

Ordinance 26-0842 — Cannabis ordinance amendments (micro consumption, armed security, license fees)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

Ordinance 26-1035 — Sale and transfer of City properties for redevelopment

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

Ordinance 26-0292 — 25-year tax abatement, 636 MLK Urban Renewal LLC (636-642 MLK Blvd)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-a — Ryan White HIV services emergency appropriation ($2,042,112)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-b — Community Resource Center appropriation ($1,316,188)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-c — Delta Dental oral health grant ($10,000)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-d — Fabyan Place freight improvements grant ($1,120,000)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-e — Clean Communities litter and graffiti grant ($533,511.19)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-f — Temporary operating appropriation ($64,217,469)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-g — Government access TV studio contract renewal (Edward Joseph Cologna Productions, up to $575,000)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-h — Council videotaping contract increase (Interfaith Television Ministries, to $350,000)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-i — Dell computer equipment contract increase (to $4,200,000)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-j — PKF O'Connor Davies audit contract correction ($150,000 per year)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-k — HVAC supplies state contract (up to $200,000)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-l — Public safety radio equipment contract (up to $500,000)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-m — City Hall flood-damage emergency contract extension (to $475,000)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-n — SHI computer/OPRA software contract (up to $9,000,000, Public Safety)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-o — Automotive parts cooperative purchasing agreement (up to $300,000/year)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-p — HVAC maintenance and repair bid contract (up to $3,000,000)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-q — Automotive lubricants bid contract (up to $100,000)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-r — Greater Newark Conservancy urban growers grant ($17,394)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-s — Sustainable Jersey/PSEG microforest and cool roof grant ($20,000)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-t — Walk-in building supplies contract increase (to $450,000)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R1-u — Health insurance brokerage services (up to $525,000)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R2-a — Sale to TNV'S & Associates LLC, 369-371 Peshine Avenue ($111,875)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R2-b — Sale to Novo Holdings LLC, 290-292 Chadwick Avenue ($73,836.78)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R2-c — Sale to Wrighton Management LLC, 921-923 South 20th Street ($92,068.30) — deferred

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R2-d — Sale to All for the Family LLC, 150 Chadwick Avenue ($43,680) — deferred

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R2-e — Sale to Benefits Properties LLC, 360-362 6th Avenue ($84,000)

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R2-f — Sale to Home Support Group LLC, 406 and 559-561 South 10th Street ($187,000) — deferred

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R2-g — Sale to GonSosa Development LLC, 372-378 15th Avenue ($220,500) — deferred

Voted yesAug 5, 2026

7R2-h — Sale to 256 Chadwick LLC, 205 Avon Avenue ($59,500)